Dr Name Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Room No
Dr. Asha. S Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable 0
Dr. Manju.K. Nair Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable 0
Dr. Ajith Thomas Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable 0



Not available

Department of Pharmacology

Head of Department: Dr. Asha. S

Faculty Details

  • No. of Professor: 1
  • No. of Associate Professors: 2
  • No. of Assistant Professors: 8
  • No. of Lecturer: 1
  • No.of Senior Residents: 2
  • No of Junior Residents: 18

The Department of Pharmacology was started in 1952 under Dr. N.Radhakrishnan. The First batch of MBBS students were admitted in 1951 in Medical College, Trivandrum. At present, the annual intake of MBBS students is 200 and that of post graduate students in MD Pharmacology is six.

Departmental Objectives:

1. To educate the undergraduate and postgraduate medical and paramedical students to apply basic principles of pharmacology and therapeutics and to prescribe drugs rationally based on suitability,tolerability, efficacy and cost effectivness for prevention, diagnosis and treatment of common  ailments

2. To facilitate basic and applied research that significantly advances current pharmacological knowledge. To promote drug based research and participate in clinical trials and scientific works.

3. To evaluate ethics and scientific procedures in basic and Applied research in Pharmacology

4. Monitor and evaluate adverse drug reactions and promote the concept of Pharmacovigilance


The department provides facilities for training students in undergradute courses both MBBS & BDS as well as post graduates in MD Pharmacology (since early 1960’s). Pharmacology training is also provided for MDS

Other paramedical courses for which training in pharmacology:

  • Bsc.Nursing
  • Bsc.Optometry
  • Bsc. Perfusion technology
  • Bachelor in Cardiovascular techmology
  • Dental hygeinist course

1.Adverse drug reaction monitoring centre

This college has been selected as one of the Adverse drug reaction monitoring centres
(AMC) under the pharmacovigilance programme of india (PvPI). All the adverse drug reactions reported from the clinical departments of our college are assesed for causality and then uploaded to the National pharmacovigilance centre, Ghaziabad to be further transmitted to the WHO Uppsala monitoring centre Sweden.

2. IEC (Institutional Ethics Committee)

The department convenes the IEC every month to decide on the ethical aspects of the Research protocols submitted and follow up of all ongoing clinical trials. The Head of the department of Pharmacology is the member secretary of Institutional Ethics committee.

3. IAEC (Institutional Animal Ethics committee)

The department convenes the IAEC regularly to decide on the ethical aspects of use of animals in Research conducted in our institution as submitted .The Head of the department of Pharmacology is the Chairman of Institutional Animal Ethics committee

4. Conduct Induction classes for House surgeons yearly


  • Prepared the Essential Drug List for the Government of Kerala
  • Published the Kerala State Drug formulary in April 2009.
  • Participated in the e-health programme of the government of Kerala providing inputs on drug information and drug coding.
  • Organised the CDSA sponsored workshop on Current Regulatory Requirement for the Members of ethics Committee in January 2015
  • Conducts CME’s and workshop on various aspects of Pharmacology & Pharmacovigilance
  • Presented Papers and posters in various National and International conferences
  • Published articles in various national and international indexed journals
Laboratory and Other Facilities

1. Clinical Pharmacology cum postgraduate research Lab

2. Experimental lab for the Postgraduates

  •  Isolated Experiments
  •  Whole animal experiments

3. Experimental Demonstration Lab for the undergraduates

4. Drug Museum

5. Department Library with reference texts

6. e - books and e- journals

7. Access to Central Library and Learning and Resource Centre